My husbands birth date is missing in Anagrafe

I got my domicile / registration done during January 2023, finally. I now have my carta d’identita, tessera sanitaria and I am offically a resident of Italy.

So, we are in a position to register our marriage in the anagrafe (the peoples registry of Italy) here in the city we are in. The lady at the counter said that since my husband does not have a residence permit, she cannot put his birthday on the marriage certificate. It only says his name. And now that is a problem.

The print-out of my details / the marriage certificate does not state my husbands birthdate.

I am kind of tired. It is just a problem after another. That is why I have not been writing. We are just going from a crisis to another.

What happens now?

We have found a lawyer now. Let me tell you, it so much easier to find a lawyer when you can speak a few words of Italian. Italians react more positively and they even try to speak a few words of English, when you are first trying to speak Italian to them. Anyhoo, we now have a immigration laywyer and he is very nice.

He took all our papers, income papers etc. and they went to the Anagrafe (commune) to ask about the missing birthdate. But the commune said they cannot add his birthdate because the wife – me – I am not a citizen(!). Eerrrhh. What the fuck is that? So now they are going to the Questura (police station) to check what happens on Monday. The commune said that maybe the police can change something, which I do not entirely understand what, since we are married in Finland and all Italy needs to do is make a note of the marriage in their peoples registry.

Honestly, I think the problem here is again, that they do not understand that I am an European Citizen. The general knowledge here is that Finland is not an EU country so they keep asking for a permesso di soggiorno (residence permit) and I do not need one, obviously.

How frustrating.

Leave a comment